Don’t Know How To Decorate My New Room

Home Forums Ask Mr. Kate Don’t Know How To Decorate My New Room

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Nikki Thao
    Participant

<p style=”text-align: center;”>I am finally getting my own room and is currently still in the process of repainting and installing a new lighting fixture. My walls are just white along with the built in desk in the corner of my room. I just need to touch up the ceiling and install new lights but I don’t know how I’m going to decorate it. I’ve gotten used to living in a small space with my sister so I don’t know how to fill up all the empty space. I’m a high school student who enjoys writing and photography. I also enjoy listening to BTS and dance whenever I can. Could you give me any tips on how I could decorate my new room?</p>

Kate Given
      Participant

I know I’m not the Mr. Kate you’re looking for, but I think I have some advice. As a fellow dancer and K-pop lover, I understand your predicament. A lot of the time, the transition from a small space to a whole room to yourself is really hard to swallow. At first, it seems great, but there’s so much room to fill that you wonder how much negative space is borderline too much negative space.

My advice is to first figure out what your style is. Whether it be boho, minimalist, mid-century modern, glam, or, heck, even whimsical, you need a defined sense of aesthetic. If you don’t know what your aesthetic could be, you can always take the “What’s My Aesthetic?” Mr. Kate quiz. 😉

Sounds like all you really have going are some white walls, a white desk, a light fixture, and a bed. Sounds familiar. Most people go through this stage when they’re decorating.

First, color scheme. No matter your style, you always want a color scheme. Take BTS. You probably know that their merch usually uses black with pink and blue accents (and rose designs). Now, in my opinion, that’s a pretty darned good color scheme.